Music

musicI’ve been thinking that I haven’t really listened to music for a while, not what I would class as proper music anyway.

I mean, when I’m reading for essays and exams or revising then I’ll listen to Classic FM to help my brain to focus and avoid any distractions and, as it has just been Christmas, I have been listening to Christmas songs and carols.

But I wouldn’t say I really enjoy this type of music. I wouldn’t purposely go out of my way to listen to it regularly.

And this brought me to think about the people who have influenced the music choices I have made.

When I was younger I didn’t really listen to music, it wasn’t something I ever wanted to do. I preferred to read fiction, play in the garden or invent games to play with my sister, using our imagination and a few props from around the house.

But when I changed schools at fourteen, I met people who made me more interested in listening to music.

I think that the first band I began listening to then was Blink-182, thanks to Victoria, and my favourite song by this band since then has been All the Small Things; although it is closely rivalled by Story of A Lonely Guy.

Victoria also got me into Nirvana, where my favourite song is Lithium, and Iron Maiden, where my favourite song is Run to the Hills.

Although I don’t listen to Paramore that much anymore, I did used to enjoy their music and it was mainly down to Mischa that I liked them. My favourite songs by Paramore were We Are Broken and Daydreaming. I’m not entirely sure that I still like them as a band now.

I also remember that in one GCSE Geography lesson, in Year Eleven, Zoe and I were discussing music and she got me to listen to a song by Hey Monday (called Obvious) which I loved and I then started to listen to more of their music too.

Once I knew the sort of music I liked to listen to, I found other bands such as The Killers, The Vaccines, The Wombats, Pearl Jam, Four Year Strong and the Foo Fighters, which I love and still listen to, although I haven’t for a while.

I like to listen to Christian music as well and the song choices I have made here have been influenced by the four different churches I have been a part of in my life as well as the recommendations of friends and from festivals.

My top five Christian songs at the moment are (in no particular order!):

  1. Wake by Hillsong Young and Free
  2. Oceans (Where Feet May Fail) by Hillsong United
  3. Greater by MercyMe
  4. You Make Me Brave by Amanda Cook and Bethel Music
  5. In Christ Alone by Stuart Townend

My top five Band songs at the moment are (in no particular order!):

  1. When You Were Young by The Killers
  2. Under your Thumb by The Vaccines
  3. Walk by Foo Fighters
  4. Catastrophe by Four Year Strong
  5. Techno Fan by The Wombats

I find that listening to music can be relaxing and helps you to forget and to focus on things that are happening in life.

The lyrics of songs are like poetry; they hold a different meaning for each individual listening to them which makes the song personal and universal.

There is something liberating in music and, although it is not an essential part of life, it is definitely something which is needed to help everything run more smoothly.

So, thank you to everyone and everything which have influenced my music choices and helped me to get through the difficult times of life and more thoroughly enjoy the easier times.

Leave a Reply

