Chocolate and Pepper Cookies

I came across this recipe and my initial thoughts were, ‘how odd’ and ‘I don’t think my mum will like those’! But I was intrigued and decided that when I was feeling adventurous I would try baking them.

And that day came today! After a two hour exam which really tested my brain cells I wanted to do something fun and different, so why not go for some exciting biscuits!

I tried one fresh out of the oven and it was surprisingly nice; the pepper was quite a subtle flavour, coming in the middle of the taste experience, and the chocolateiness made these even more delectable.

I definitely recommend these, whatever preconceptions you have about the ingredients!

Ingredients:

110g butter

50g icing sugar

110g self-raising flour

25g cocoa powder

20 turns of the pepper shaker

2 tips of a teaspoon handle of cayenne pepper (it was just an estimate of how much an 1/8 of a teaspoon was!)

 

Method:

  1. Cream butter and icing sugar
  2. Mix in the flour, cocoa power, pepper and cayenne pepper
  3. Chill dough in the fridge for half an hour
  4. Heat the oven to 180 C
  5. Lightly flour a work surface and tip the dough out; roll into a sausage shape
  6. Cut the dough into 16 circles and lay on a greased baking tray, they spread slightly so allow a little space between biscuits
  7. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes

Happy experimenting!

Leave a Reply

