Christ as a Light

Image result for christ as a light illumine and guide me

Christ, as a light
illumine and guide me.
Christ, as a shield
overshadow me.
Christ under me;
Christ over me;
Christ beside me
on my left and my right.
This day be within and without me,
lowly and meek, yet all-powerful.
Be in the heart of each to whom I speak;
in the mouth of each who speaks unto me.
This day be within and without me,
lowly and meek, yet all-powerful.
Christ as a light;
Christ as a shield;
Christ beside me
on my left and my right.

This prayer comes from the Northumbria Community for 21 May and it was used as our closing prayer at church this morning.

Many of the prayers which are used in the Anglican church can seem to lack real personal meaning. The words are scripted out for us to say and it can feel like something we have to do and participate in.

However, this morning the words in this prayer really connected with me. I think it was the realisation that Christ is everywhere, under, over and beside me. He surrounds us, keeping us safe and keeping us company all the time.

It’s funny how, as I write this, I am reminded of the story We’re Going on a Bear Hunt. The idea that there is no way round the problems faced in this story so they have to go through has similarities to being unable to get round God. Indeed we could just turn round and neglect His presence but I like to think that we need to go forwards and embrace Him, so that He can be both within and without of us,

Recently I have been feeling far from God and unconnected; today hasn’t really been different but this prayer, this canticle, has reminded me that God is near even though I can’t feel Him.

And I am making a decision to use this prayer as a devotion for each day in the coming week. I feel that it can motivate me, reassure me and connect me more with God and will help me to get through exams and stressful feelings and experiences.

I hope that this prayer offers some support for you too and I’d be happy to hear of any other prayers or devotional words that people use to connect more with God.

Leave a Reply

